Sunday, 6 December 2009

Happ'y'ness - Part 2

Here I'm again.
The post is based on this quote I read a long while ago "You either think or be happy". I laughed at this quote when I read it, and thought, heh! nonsense that is so not true.
But yesterday as it happened so, I was at FOSS.IN attending the closing ceremony, where Raghu Dixit was performing an awesome concert. I was standing in the roaring crowd, jumping with joy, nearly bringing the roof down [ ] perplexed and slightly dissatisfied and a little dejected, pondering over several things that I had planned for and how things turned out totally opposite to it.
 
Then it hit me.

 Why am I low in the middle of this blithe and boisterous gathering thinking about totally unrelated and useless jibber jabber, refusing to participate with the mirthful proceedings? It was then, that moment, I decided, there are times, where its simply not worth thinking about things, times when you just have to forget what is on your mind and be a part of the merry crowd.
There are times where it doesn't really matter if you are thinking about something, it doesn't matter if you rant about it, it doesn't matter if you achieved something or lost something. Times when all you need to do is forget about everything and be happy


Now, think about it, the times you were in a gleeful crowd feeling totally out of place, was it really worth missing out on all the fun? Was it really worth thinking, "I wish I could be alone or talking about the issue to someone" and responding "nothing" to someone asking if anything is disturbing you?


My two cents: It actually is good to forget about things that din't go the way you want, the next time you think about them, they won't seem so bad after all.[But, never forget to learn your lesson though].


Don't worry be happy! :-)


P.S. You might want to try listening to Raghu Dixit, some songs are really nice.

Saturday, 31 October 2009

Title? Nonsense (contd.. )

As, I had expected, my exam was #fail. I blame it on all ye folks out there who din't wish me enough luck :-| But, hota hai if it just had to happen it sure did. And, whatever nonsense, I don't really care much, just wanted an excuse to blame you :P yes, you are the culprit!

So, where was I?

Ah, yes, a post on the lot of things that happened in the July 8 - NOW! ( Heard songs from the band? Some of them are quite nice)

So, as I see it, I'd returned from GC Islands (almost lost my baggage in the process, another long story), completed my GSoC, celebrated my Birthday, Friendship Day, Sem began, treats came, Quiz I came, Shaastra were there, Diwali came, Quiz II came, then some little peace came, then FOSS.IN call for proposals came,.,*sigh* so many things to post about.

But hey! (as you most probably would've already have guessed) I've another exam tomorrow :(

Yes yes, I know I should kill myself for doing this post-only-before-exam stint. I promise, I'll get to some real blogging sometime in the future. Sometime, someday, somehow.. ( Oh these remind me of the song Someday by Nickelback, its a nice song listen to it ) until then,. I'll keep up with the flurry of silly pre-exam posts.. have fun,. see you at end-sems.

And, don't forget to wish me luck for tomorrow :)

Friday, 30 October 2009

Title? Nonsense!

As, it always happens, I get this urge to write a blog post just before a very painful exam in a few hours. Thought it takes away some of my precious nite-out-mug-fight-time these are the times when one should decide what is really important and do the exact opposite thing.

So, Heylos!

Long time no c, c++, java, fortran,...

Again my usual apologies for my disappearance from the blogosphere for a long time. I've been busy with a lot of things, think I'll reserve this post for citing those reasons :)

So... where was I?

hmm..

Lemme look at my archive..

Ah, yes, July 8 it was, seems like I'd posted about a dinner, long long ago from a far far place... Lovely, so there is a lot of catching up to be done here and I don't think I'll do justice to any of the activities I'd been involved in if I put them up in a single post..

So tell you what?

I'll go try and read for the exam now, and get back tomorrow with more posts (I know, you must be going D'oh! now).

But before you leave, wish me luck!

I need it, I need it badly (Truly, madly, deeply is more like it I guess :P )

P.S.
Before you even ask, yes, all I needed was luck before my exam, this post is posted just for that :D

P.P.S.
I'm going for a round of coffee now, so I might, just might get back soon (if I don't follow my own advice on what not to do that is ) with a crazy post, so for your own good, pray it doesn't happen! Thats a deal right?

P.P.P.S.
Want to hear a crazy PJ?

" A man and his wife go on a winter vacation and they take their dog along in their car. Suddenly, the car stops somewhere in the middle of nowhere and the man realizes he's forgotten to fill up the fuel tank! Poor chap, there are no buildings or gas stations close by.. But the man was pretty intelligent, he took his dog out and.....
(wait for it)
....rolls it on the road, and this aids him to continue his journey. Then the man and his wife had a nice vacation and lived happily ever since."

Nice story right?

Oh, it doesn't make sense to you?

( Well here's a hint: Dogs are pets )

- Courtesy Prof. TTN
( who doesn't say "where" - so that people won't think he is being possessive of me!)

Take care, see you soon.

Wishing good luck to my fellow comrades, for now signing off.

Wednesday, 8 July 2009

Dinner?

Hola!
Bienvenido a mi blog .. Derecho desde hace mucho tiempo ..

Oh, here I go again, since I'm writing this from Spain I kinda get konfused between Spanish and ingles. Grr.. I mean English :)

( BTW, the initial text, which you and I are sure is of no importance means:"Hello, welcome to my blog,. been long right?"
Okay, now you might think maybe it was a little important, so again:
Hi [:)] )

Pardon me for my really really long disappearance from blogosphere, I'd been a bit busy with my vacation from "Vetti Club" so I'm not quite the president at the moment. And well, my tech blog has been filling up with random entries for a change. And if you by any remotely-vague (or vaguely-remote or both or whichever is worse) chance want to read it, its here.

Well then, let me now begin to start telling you what I actually wanted to say. ( Oh, maybe I din't want to say anything specific and just wanted to ramble a bit.. but then, be nice and think I'm actually writing something [which probably is of course complete (non)sense] and force yourself to continue, I promise you a few nice pics(no no not mine, don't get scared and close the window ) if not anything else.

So, here now, we begin (yes in the middle) from the beginning.

And oh, before we get started, I should give you a little info on the circumstances under which I'm writing the blog, so that you won't kill me in the end if the dinner goes horribly wrong [:D]
Yeah, so because a lot of people thought I should attend a conference I'm right now in Gran Canary Islands, an island (D'oh) off Spain. And this place is one with a reputation for being an almost pure non-vegetarian cuisine. And since I happen to be a Vegetarian, I'm currently forced to cook at the moment for my survival in the islands. { Yeah I know I can live on the ice-creams here, but then they are too heavy for my leeetle pocket, and well I personally don't like heavy stuff due to my build as well (though ice-cream is certainly a good thing for it [:P] ) }

Cooking really has been fun and I've been enjoying it, and surprising my mom, as well.. er... um... She has to spoonfeed me at home, and out here I'm actually cooking!

But then I thought I could manage with these things :


And it turned out those things got over in a couple of days, so I had to actually cook a complete meal, with rice and vegetables and all that jazz.. And I was pretty lucky to survive my cooking and sane enough to write this post(Oh! din't I just contradict myself?)

Now, presenting, my recipe for a well if you insist on giving it a name, call it vegetable-rice.
Made with Rice, Potato, Onion, Tomato and Peas.
(Warning, this recipe takes about 2 days due to one ingredient, which will be explained a little late, so take care ;) )
So, now take the vegetables and cut them ( The Tomato has to be cut separately, preferably in a clean place/bowl ) Make sure, they look something like this:





The peas, are really peace things to have, the ones I used were already boiled :)



Now for the ingredient which takes two days, Boil rice two days prior to the dinner time and well keep them in the fridge, preferably at subzero temperatures. And then keep it out about 30 minutes before you start out on the endeavor so that it defreezes well.



And, here is one really really important ingredient, which decides whether someone eats the recipe or not, and behold...it is :



If you still don't get what it is, here's a hint [ Its NaCl + I2 + traces of a few minerals ]

Ready to cook now?
Start off with butter( if oil is not available that is) on the frying pan, and add the Potato + Onion mixture to it, and fry them till you think they look really similar ;)



After this, add the tomatoes, and mix well for a while,. This will take sometime, tomatoes have a lot of water content.



Now, go for the nice, defrozen rice.



Time for peas!



And now, after you've mixed things enough, add the salt!!

Finally,mix things well, and you end up with something like this:



It atleast looks palatable right? It sure was, and to my great surprise was actually good :D

I used to laugh and make fun of those tv shows which showed you how to cook and stuff, but here I'm blogging about it!

Well then, I'll keep you updated on more stuff, as I intend to blog a bit more often now on, take care, and until the next post, signing off :) [ And do try the the recipe! this unlike the previous post does not fall under the category of "Don't do this!" :P ]

P.S. As I'd mentioned way back, in the beginning of the post, I'm not responsble for anything bad that might happen as a result of following the instructions in this post and all of the cribs will be sent to /dev/null.
On the other hand, if you had a really nice experience with this, all I can say is "You're one heck of a lucky person [:D]"

Saludos!